Three Evro books shortlisted for RAC 2018 Motoring Book of the Year Awards

Three Evro books shortlisted for RAC 2018 Motoring Book of the Year Awards


Now in their fifth year, the Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book Awards are recognised as the most prestigious awards to be bestowed in the automotive publishing industry. We at Evro are delighted to announce that three of our books are among the 12 that have been shortlisted:

Shortlisted for Motoring Book of the Year Award:

  • Hobbo: Motor Racer, Motor Mouth, The autobiography of David Hobbs by David Hobbs with Andrew Marriott

Shortlisted for Specialist Motoring Book of the Year Award:

  • Reid Railton: Man of Speed by Karl Ludvigsen
  • Jim Clark: The Best of the Best by David Tremayne

The annual awards, hosted by respected broadcaster and journalist Simon Taylor, will take place on Wednesday 31 October at a special evening held at the Club’s historic Pall Mall clubhouse, amongst many distinguished industry guests.

“We never fail to be amazed at the quality and variety of titles that our experienced judges propose for the Awards, and this year is no exception,” said Peter Read, the Club’s Motoring Committee Chairman.

The award committee consists of six expert judges who are totally independent of the Royal Automobile Club and represent the UK’s most informed motoring literary critics. They are: Gordon Cruickshank (Motor Sport magazine), Mark Dixon (Octane magazine), Ben Horton (independent motoring bookseller Hortons Books), Mick Walsh (Classic & Sports Car magazine), Christian Whitehead (motoring department of London bookstore Foyles) and Tom Wiltshire (Auto Express).