Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72
Lotus 72

Lotus 72


Sale price£50.00
Author Pete Lyons
ISBN: 9781910505335

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way
Select Edition
This book covers one of the most revered Formula 1 cars ever made. Introduced in 1970, the wedge-shaped Lotus 72 competed for six seasons, winning 20 World Championship Grands Prix, two Drivers’ titles (for Jochen Rindt in 1970 and Emerson Fittipaldi in 1972) and three Constructors’ titles (in 1970, 1972 and 1973), racing first in Lotus’s evocative red, white and gold livery, then the equally eye-catching black and gold of the John Player Special period. Pete Lyons, Autosport’s renowned Formula 1 reporter for part of the Lotus 72 era, explores the car’s entire race-by-race career in his insightful commentary accompanying a magnificent array of over 360 photos.

• The 1970 season: after troubled early development, the 72 finally took over from the long-serving 49, its four consecutive race wins enough to secure the World Championship for Jochen Rindt, posthumously after his death during practice for the Italian Grand Prix.

• The 1971 season: with promising youngster Emerson Fittipaldi elevated to team leader after Rindt’s death, great things were expected of the 72’s second season but it proved to be winless.

• The 1972 season: now in black and gold John Player livery, the 72 became far more competitive and Fittipaldi’s four Grand Prix victories made him World Champion.

• The 1973 season: Ronnie ‘SuperSwede’ Peterson joined Fittipaldi to form a dream team and together they won seven races, but because Lotus’s spoils were divided between the two drivers Jackie Stewart was able to come through to become World Champion.

• The 1974 season: still the 72 soldiered on, now as the fall-back car after its successor, the 76, failed to deliver; partnered by Jacky Ickx, Peterson won three Grands Prix.

• The 1975 season: well beyond its sell-by date, the 72 did a final season but by now it was far from effective, with Ickx’s second place in the tragic Spanish Grand Prix its best result.

Format: 280x235mm
Page extent: 320
Illustration: 364 photos, mainly colour

We deliver to addresses throughout the world.

UK Mainland delivery costs (under 2kg) by Royal Mail £5.00.

Books will normally be shipped within two working days of order. Estimated delivery times post shipment. UK: Up to 5 working days. Europe, Northern Ireland and Highlands and Islands: Up to 8 days. USA: Up to 12 days 

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR EU CUSTOMERS: Delivered Duty Unpaid (DDU) means that customers are responsible for paying the destination country's customs charges, duties. Regrettably parcels will sometimes be held by customs until any outstanding payments are made. Any payments not received may result in courier returning or in some cases destroying your books.

Unwanted products can be returned with the original packaging within 14 days of delivery. Returns will be at your own cost. 

If you receive a faulty or damaged item please contact orders@evropublishing.com for return and replacement information.

Full delivery and returns information

Pete Lyons
Known in Britain primarily for his Autosport reports during the 1960s and 1970s from Formula 1 and North America’s Can-Am, the USA’s veteran motorsports journalist and photographer Pete Lyons has also covered such memorable classics as the Sebring 12 Hours, Le Mans 24 Hours, Indy 500, Pikes Peak Hill Climb, Kenya’s Safari Rally, Mexico’s Baja 1000 and Reno Air races, plus numerous Trans-Am, F5000, ALMS, CART, NASCAR, NHRA, USAC, motorcycle and vintage events.

A former editor of RACECAR magazine, he also has contributed to enthusiast publications including Autosport, AutoWeek, Car and Driver, Cycle, Cycle World, Motor Sport, Private Pilot, Racer, Road & Track, Vintage Racecar and current regular client Vintage Motorsport. The author of 15 books published to date, with more underway, Lyons has won several prestigious honours, including the Motor Press Guild’s Dean Batchelor Award (twice) and the International Motor Press Association’s Ken Purdy Award. In 2011 he gained the International Automotive Media Award for Lifetime Achievement.

MORE BY Pete Lyons